World Future(s) Day 2021

0Views

Join 24-Hour Round-the-World Conversation to Celebrate World Futures Day, Hosted by The Millennium Project & Futures Studies

Beginning March 1 in New Zealand at 12 noon NZ time, the open conversation on how to build a better future will move west each hour. Anyone can join in at 12 noon their time and join futurists and others to explore possibilities for our common future.

World Futures Day (WFD’21) 1.3. – Invitation Link:
https://us02web.zoom.us/j/5221011954?pwd=UEg4TXhYMnU0TGxyNzNsUUd6dXQ4Zz09

World Futures Day – Young Voices’21 (1.3.):
https://us02web.zoom.us/w/85966046661?tk=Yx70cR1JxAoBAE1tbvN6LlgpU2ufR199P58XRCExT8Y.DQIAAAAUA_nFxRY3c21aUTR5RFR5Q2tRY0g1STItNlpnAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA&pwd=UTRoODNBenZNSTh1ZTl5S2ZmT0NJdz09

 

 

UTC +0/+1/+2 Europe Host, Organisator, Moderator & Press Contact:
Roman.Retzbach@Future-Institute.com (German Futurist, +49 1520 130 8488)
Co-Moderator: Mara.Di.Berardo@Futures-Studies.com (Italian Futurist)

 

UTC +3/+4/+5/+6 African & Arabic Hosts, Organisators & Moderators:  
Elizabeth@Futures-Studies.com
Nondas@Futures-Studies.com
Mariana@Futures-Studies.com
Tal@Futures-Studies.com
Prof.Nadezhda.Gaponenko@Futures-Studies.com
Prof.Phoebe.Koundouri@Futures-Studies.com

 

UTC +10/+11/+12 Australian Hosts, Organisators & Moderators:
Marcus.Bussey@Futures-Studies.com
Chris.Hamer@Futures-Studies.com

 

UTC +7/+8/+9 Asian Host, Organisator, Moderator & Press Contact:
Roman.Retzbach@Future-Institute.com (German Futurist, +49 1520 130 8488)
Co-Moderators:
Jyoti.Parikh@Futures-Studies.com (Indian Futurist)
Shermon.Cruz@Futures-Studies.com (‘Asean’ Futurist)
Lizan.Calina@Futures-Studies.com (Asian Futurist)

 

UTC -1/-2/-3/-4/-5 North American Hosts, Organisators & Moderators:
Jerome.Glenn@Futures-Studies.com
Ted.Gordon@Futures-Studies.com
Francisco.Jose.Mojica@Futures-Studies.com

 

UTC -6/-7/-8/-9/-10/-11 South / Middle American Hosts, Organisators & Moderators:
Lydia.Garrido@Futures-Studies.com
Constanza.Bourdieu@Futures-Studies.com

Arnoldo.de.Hoyos@Futures-Studies.com
Rosa.Alegría@Futures-Studies.com

Olavarrieta@Futures-Studies.com
Ramón.Santoyo@Futures-Studies.com
Tony.Carbonero@Futures-Studies.com
Gabino.Ayarza@Futures-Studies.com
Carlos.von.Marschall@Futures-Studies.com

 

World Futures Day is March 1. This will be the eighth year that futurists and the general public will conduct a 24-hour, round-the-world conversation on the future on March 1 at 12 noon in whatever time zone they are in. Each year, total strangers discuss ideas about possible worlds of tomorrow in a relaxed, open, no-agenda conversation. Futures research is shared, collaborations are created, and new friendships are made.

Futures Studies, a global foresight portal for futurists and futures organizations, will co-host with The Millennium Project , a global foresight participatory think tank, this conversation on the future in collaboration with the Association of Professional Futurists (APF), Future Institute, Humanity+, UNESCO’s Global Futures Literacy Network, the World Academy of Art and Science (WAAS), and the World Futures Studies Federation (WFSF).

Anybody can pull up a cyber-chair at this global table and join the discussion on ZOOM. People drop in and out as they like. If they can’t come online at 12 noon their time, they are welcome at any time over the 24 hours.

Each year, for the past seven years, global thought leaders have shared their views about future threats and opportunities – from COVID-19 to governing artificial intelligence, inventing future concepts of work, building space elevators to orbital cities, reducing climate change, guaranteeing safe water and energy, fighting transnational organized crime, developing future forms of democracy, countering information warfare, incorporating global ethics in decisionmaking, enforcing safety standards for synthetic biology, and the future of humanity. Who knows what will be discussed this year? Comments can be added at #worldfutureday.

This year, at 12 noon East Coast US time, we will be joined by Theodore Gordon, Futurist pioneer at RAND, Institute for the Future, Futures Group and The Millennium Project. Gordon was also the manager of the third stage of the Apollo rocket to the moon and co-developed Delphi, Cross-Impact Analysis, and the State of the Future Index.

Members of the press are most welcome to join the conversation asking questions to this diverse group of future-oriented people; however, you can quote, use material, but not cite the source. Come online and join the conversation with others working to build a better future. This conversation will not be recorded, but the comments and references in the chat box will be saved.

Co-sponsoring organizations:
Association of Professional Futurists
Future Institute
Humanity+
UNESCO’s Global Futures Literacy Network
The Millennium Project
World Academy of Art and Science
World Futures Studies Federation